Canon FD 50mm f/1.4 SSC tips?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by starlabs, Oct 8, 2010.

1. starlabs

starlabs Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 30, 2010
    Los Angeles
    I just recently acquired a Canon FD 50mm f/1.4 SSC and would appreciate any tips on using that particular lens.

I also have the Panasonic 20mm f/1.7. Any suggestions on which would be more appropriate to use in different situations? They're both good low-light performers but obviously differ in focal length (and AF vs MF).

I'm pretty new to photography but have the basics down. I hope. :tongue:

-Hiep

2. deirdre

deirdre Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 9, 2010
    I have two photos taken from the same place with those lenses, so this should give you an idea of the focal length differences:

50mm Canon FD f/1.4:

[​IMG]

20mm f/1.7 Panasonic lens:

[​IMG]

And the Olympus 14-42mm kit lens at 14mm:

[​IMG]

• Like Like x 6
  3. Kosta

Kosta Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 29, 2010
    Australia
    No matter the complaints, i still think the kit lens produces some really nice pics. yeah it's a little noisy but it is sharp and colourful!

4. Brian S

Brian S Mu-43 Top Veteran Charter Member

Apr 11, 2009
    The 50mm focal length makes a great portrait lens on a u43 camera.

Try it for some existing light photo's. Watch for oil on the blades, I've had that happen with one of my Canon 50/1.4's.

5. starlabs

Sep 30, 2010
    Los Angeles
    Thanks for the tips and pics! I got a chance to try out the Canon lens tonight and I'm impressed...
    Both taken this evening; aperture wide open, ISO 800, 1/30 for the first one, 1/20 for the second.

Focusing is a bit tricky without an evf, but the zoom in MF mode helps a lot.
    I much prefer this over the pancake 20mm focal length. Only downside is it's 2x bigger and feels at least 4x heavier :eek: I can see how extended use can be tiring...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

• Like Like x 2
  6. zpierce

zpierce Super Moderator Moderator Subscribing Member

Sep 26, 2010
    Minneapolis, MN