1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Canon FD 100mm f/4 as inexpensive macro option

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by tlovegrove, Apr 30, 2014.

1. tlovegrove

tlovegrove Mu-43 Regular

Mar 3, 2014
    Southern California
    Tim
    If the $400 for the Olympus Macro is too much, or you think it's too short for comfortable macro work (as I do), the Canon FD 100mm F/4 is a good poor-man's option. You can get it for $100-$125, and the extension tube can be added for less than $10. I'm really a macro newbie, but here are some from my first tries:

14070642561_5eae6a7d2c_b. Yosemite 2014 by jqv99373, on Flickr

14050729856_411a3bee73_b. Yosemite 2014 by jqv99373, on Flickr

14050727936_a4ba9ebd9d_b. Yosemite 2014 by jqv99373, on Flickr

14073836435_0238000744_b. Yosemite 2014 by jqv99373, on Flickr

14074312404_84464afd7e_b. Yosemite 2014 by jqv99373, on Flickr

(album here)

Tim

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 10
  2. dadadude

dadadude Mu-43 Regular

Jun 12, 2013
    San Carlos, CA
    David
    Nice shots! Get a Canon FD or FL macro though, they can be had for cheap. I got both of mine for less than $50 each. With tubes it is amazing what you can shoot. You will need a good tripod.

3. tlovegrove

tlovegrove Mu-43 Regular

Mar 3, 2014
    Southern California
    Tim
    This is a Canon FD macro that I'm talking about. Guess I didn't specifically use the word "macro" in the lens description.

4. RDM

RDM Mu-43 All-Pro

Very nice shots @tlovegrove .. I just picked us an old Minolta Rokkor QF F=50mm 1:3.5 Macro lens, for $19. (No 1:1 adapter, but I do own a set of MD extension tubes)
    It should be here next week. I cant wait to try some shots with it.

I actually have 3 macro lenses already . I should try shooting more macro work, or compare them maybe.
    the macros are a:
    -Konica Hexanon AR 50mm f/3.5 1:2 Macro with 1:1 adapter {K/AR Mount}
    -Vivitar 55mm f/2.8 1:1 {Canon FD Mount}