Can one really justify a 135mm 1.8 in addition to an 85mm 1.4 for portra...

jeffery163

Mu-43 Rookie
I do have the Zeiss 50mm 1.4 and the Sony GM 85 1.4 for portraits. I also have the Samyang 75mm 1.8 for portraits while traveling. In addition, I do have the Tamron 70-180 2.8

I’ve always been interested in a 135mm 1.8 lens. However, I am not a professional. I just take pictures for fun and from time to time. Mostly while traveling. I only shoot portraits, don’t do action photography, neither sports nor running dogs.

Let’s face it: Is there any real justification for a 135mm 1.8 lens in addition to the 85 1.4 (or also 70-180 2.8) beside simply wanting it for the sake of whatever?

Maybe there are people who have tried both and decided to stick with the 85mm 1.4 only, because it’s capable enough of doing the job? Maybe it’s the other way around.

In other words: What can a 135mm 1.8 do what a 85mm 1.4 is absolutely incapable of?

I’d be really happy if you could help me out with your experiences etc.
smiley.gif
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

PakkyT

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Well first off, are you talking about micro four thirds? Or are you talking about 35mm format (or something else)? I ask because 135mm on m43 is pretty long for a lot of things. That said, I always did enjoy shooting with my old OM 135/2.8 on my 4/3rds sensor.

bargainguy

Mu-43 Regular
Real Name
Don
Decidedly a non-MFT question, but we are an equal opportunity format forum, so here goes.

What are you looking for in a fast 135 that you're not getting with a fast 85? Both lenses should already excel at subject isolation.

Only reason I can think of is increased magnification. So you want, say, a tight headshot instead of a shoulder-up portrait without changing your working distance to the subject.

Other than that, I can't see much use for a fast 135 on top of a fast 85 for portraits.

oldracer

Mu-43 Hall of Famer