1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Can micro 4/3 do "pro" photography?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Dramaturg, Aug 28, 2013.

1. Dramaturg

Dramaturg Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 7, 2013
    Ukraine
    Yevgen
    I am not a pro photographer and I chose micro 4/3 only because of the compact size and some good glass. However, even on this forum, I read that there are people who actually do a pro photography using micro 4/3 gear (some use OM-D as a second body for something like 5dmkIII, others report to do pro job with OM-D alone). Also Olympus will be trying to sell the E-M1 as a pro camera. However, I have hard time imagining it as all of my friends who do pro photography for living use FF gear (at least here in Ukraine) due to the number of reasons. First, FF gear produces images with shallow depth of field and micro 4/3 is simply not capable of reproducing it due to the sensor physical size (and it seems that many people who hire a photographer for a wedding or a child photo session really want those shallow dof portraits - at least in Ukraine). Second, FF has lots of fast glass (1,2-1,8) which is often cheaper than micro 4/3 equivalents therefore it is easier (and cheaper) to build the FF pro kit. Third, it seems that only OM-D is something like "splash" proofed, while Canikon bodies have good weather protection. Fourth, low light and high iso performance of the FF sensors is simply amazing, much superior to all micro 4/3 sensors. Fifth (the least important but still), most of the micro 4/3 simply look like point and shoot cameras, while most clients want to see pro looking bodies.