Can I use Nikon SB600 with my G series camera?

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by hillwalkinggirl, Jun 21, 2011.

1. hillwalkinggirl

hillwalkinggirl Mu-43 Regular

Feb 9, 2011
    Barbara
    I have a Nikon SB600 which I use with my Nikon D80. I would like to also be able to use it with my G1 and my GF1. Is there any way I can do this? I need to save some pennies so don't fancy having to buy another flash when there is a perfectly good one in the draw. Help would be appreciated please.

2. sylvesterii

sylvesterii Mu-43 Regular

Jun 21, 2011
    I'm in the same boat as you. Have a full range of Nikon gear. Just picked up an E-P1.

I have read that you can use an SB-600, but you will have to set the flash manually. Basically it will fire the flash, but not have any ability to account for the flash going off.

I am new to this whole micro four thirds thing though, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

3. Saelee

Saelee Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2011
    The camera will trigger the flash but you will not be able to use it in TTL or "automatic" on the flash. As sylvesterii said, you have to use it in FULL manual.

4. hillwalkinggirl

Feb 9, 2011
    Barbara
    Thank you both for your replies. As I haven't got a clue how to use the flash manually it looks like I might have to save up for a TTL compatible one. A lot of people recommend the Metz. I think I might have a look at that.

5. sylvesterii

Jun 21, 2011
    Let me know what you decide. I was thinking about seeing if I could find an Olympus FL-36R, as I have heard that it pairs well, and I think can be triggered off camera wirelessly. I've also been told to make sure it is the "R" version. Though I guess I am not sure of all the cross brand compatibility of the Panasonic bodies etc. as I am new hear.

6. thearne3

thearne3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 28, 2010
    Redding, CT USA