Can any MFT lens fit on my E-P3?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by jimi, Mar 18, 2013.

1. jimi

jimi New to Mu-43

Mar 18, 2013
    I am new to photography so pardon my ignorance. I have an Olympus E-P3 and am looking to get my first prime lens.
    My question is: will any MFT lens from other brands (ie panasonic, leica, etc) fit my camera without needing an adapter or losing something (eg. Auto focus)? Another words can I choose from any MFT lens or should i stick to Olympus lenses?

(I am looking to get a portrait lens to take family photos as I'm just married and starting a family. Any suggestions?)
  2. dav1dz

dav1dz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 6, 2012
    Only exception is the 3D lens. This lens only works on a Panasonic body.

Otherwise any Micro Four Thirds lens will work on your E-P3 camera.
  3. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    This is true that the Panasonic 3D lens is the only :43: lens not compatible with the E-P3, although that lens does work on the OM-D (which is the only Olympus body with which it is compatible) and I'm not sure it's compatible with ALL of the early Panasonics (e.g. the G1).

As to the OP's original question, there is no reason to limit yourself to Olympus lenses. For portraits, your best bets are probably the Olympus 45/1.8, the Panasonic/Leica 25/1.4 and the Olympus 75/1.8 depending on which focal length you feel most comfortable with. Since you mention starting a family, I would tend to go with the shorter focal lengths, since particularly with babies you're going to want to get close to your subject (if for no other reason than to be able to catch them when they start to fall over). I'd look at the PL 25/1.4 or even the Panasonic 20/1.7 pancake or Olympus 17/1.8.
  4. jziegler

jziegler Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 15, 2012
    Salem County, New Jersey