1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Camera Sharpening Experiment

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Brian Beezley, Nov 24, 2013.

1. Brian Beezley

Brian Beezley Mu-43 All-Pro

[​IMG]

I am a beginner at photography and I need all the help I can get. I shoot RAW so that I have a better chance of correcting my mistakes after I take a photo. I use an E-PL2. While the Olympus manual does a pretty good job of elaborating the various features, it seldom offers much explanation. This is true for camera sharpening. My E-PL2 lets you set Sharpness from -2 to +2 with a default of 0, but the manual offers no guidance for setting this parameter.

To avoid artifact propagation, I decided that I wanted to do all sharpening after all other image processing and at the output resolution. To do this I need to disable any sharpening in the camera. I thought it unlikely that the camera would actually blur an image so I figured -2 was no sharpening, or perhaps a minimal amount. A couple days ago I sent a question to Olympus asking whether this guess was correct. While waiting for an answer, I decided to try an experiment.

The image above is a composite of 100% crops. In one, camera sharpening is -2, and in the other it is 0. I used Olympus Viewer 3 to set the two values for the RAW image. While 0 is noticeably sharper than -2, some sharpening halos are visible, particularly surrounding the vertical cables. So I think my guess is correct. I'll update this post after I hear back from Olympus

Brian

P.S. - Olympus confirms that setting Sharpness to -1 or -2 does not blur the image. Instead, it lessens the sharpening amount. They also say that there is no way to completely eliminate sharpening with Olympus Viewer 3.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Brian Beezley

Brian Beezley Mu-43 All-Pro

[​IMG]