Camera operation using old (manual) lenses

apt-efx

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
19
Hi guys!

Newcomer here, and I have 1 question.

I've been reading about all the interesting adapted lens combination you people have for the m4/3 cameras.
Now I am wondering that since there is no electrical connection between the old (manual focus) lens and the camera body, how do you operate the camera+lens? :confused:

Would you just set the aperture on the lens body, and then set the camera to be in S mode, rendering it full manual operation? Or can you set it in A mode, with a random aperture number on the camera body, and if so will the light metering work to determine the optimal shutter speed?

I have the e-p2 and am considering older manual lenses (either the hexanons or the voigtlanders).

Thanks!!! :smile:
 

BBW

Super Moderator Emeritus
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
6,229
Location
Near "Playland" outside of NYC, NY, USA
Welcome to mu-43.com, apt-efx! Hope you'll stop in at the Welcomes and Intro forum and make yourself continue to make yourself at home. :biggrin:

In the meantime, no doubt that someone with more experience than I will come on and help you out with a good answer. It may or may not take a bit of time, depending upon who is online, but it will get answered - that I promise.:thumbup:
 

hodad66

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
806
Location
Indialantic, Florida
I use a G1 so it may be different...... in the menu there
is a choice "operate without lens". Once you set that
any of the "dumb" adapters simply holds the lens of
choice in place. You operate the cam in "A" or "M" and
set the aperture on the lens ring.

You will see the corresponding speed change as you stop
down. Very simple really, I'm sure that someone with an
EP-2 will come along with more specific info for that cam.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Alan Wolf

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
66
Location
Berkeley, CA
Interesting site

E-P2 is just as easy.. Actually there is no setting for shoot without lens... I shoot manual only, but I'm not a big fan of automatic metering... I use the exposure computer http://www.fredparker.com/ultexp1.htm

Learn the basics and never need a meter again...
Thanks for posting the link to that site. I’m a big fan of through the lens metering, but he gives a great explanation about why you can’t just expect any meter to give you a perfect exposure.

I don’t know how to copy your post onto a thread I started a few weeks ago, that was links to good photography sites—possibly one of the moderators or more experienced users could do that—I still like the idea of a thread like that.
 

ahuyevshi

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
454
Location
Berkeley, CA
Well my issue with through the lens is I have some film bodies that don't have meters :rolleyes:

Thanks for posting the link to that site. I’m a big fan of through the lens metering, but he gives a great explanation about why you can’t just expect any meter to give you a perfect exposure.

I don’t know how to copy your post onto a thread I started a few weeks ago, that was links to good photography sites—possibly one of the moderators or more experienced users could do that—I still like the idea of a thread like that.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom