1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Camera durability in the bag or backpack

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by blindinglight, Aug 23, 2014.

1. blindinglight

blindinglight Mu-43 Regular

Jul 24, 2014
    Thailand
    Rommel
    I'm totally new in the photography hobby so for now, I'm babying my E-M1 a bit. Padded camera bags, screen protectors from day one and what not. After all, these are quite expensive toys. But then it got me thinking, some DSLP shooters moved to the micro four thirds world because of the portability among others. So I was wondering, is the E-M1/E-M5/E-Px durable enough, say with a lens (24-40mm or 45mm or pancakes) to be swimming with your other stuff in your backpack without proper padding and stuff? I guess this can only be answered by people who had their gear for quite a while and if they had experiences with having their cameras in their bags with books, tablets, and other stuff without experiences of lens mount loosening or buttons falling off (I'm not much worried about scratches).

Thanks for your opinions and experiences.

2. OzRay

OzRay Mu-43 Legend

Jan 29, 2010
    South Gippsland, Australia
    Ray, not Oz
    My E-M1 with 14-35mm f2 lens often sits on the floor of my 4WD, has flown off the passenger seat into the footwell while in the bush off-road, never been babied. It should definitely be as durable as any tablet.

• Like Like x 1
  3. franklyadam

franklyadam Mu-43 Rookie

Mar 3, 2014
    Mine doesn't swim with everything else but it's always in my backpack and doesn't seem any worse for wear.

Got a compuday pack 250 off amazon ( http://www.amazon.ca/Lowepro-LP36297-CompuDay-Photo-Black/dp/B004M9AS3Y ) has a nice padded compartment for the camera with lense. Laptop sleeve and room for narrower books ( as wide as iPad mini or so ) I've been very happy with it, holds all my stuff for work ( and for kid stuff on the weekend ) and provides easy access to the camera.