1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Cactus V6 and Cactus RF60

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by zap, Aug 17, 2014.

1. zap

zap Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 23, 2012
    uk
    Anybody who has used these on their mu-43 cameras?

Any feedback?

Thx.

2. ptan55

ptan55 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 18, 2011
    Amherst, NY
    I am thinking of getting the V6s. And would love to hear others' experiences with it.

I am coming from Pocket Wizards (which doesnt support MU43 nor Sony A7 family)

3. inkista

inkista Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 13, 2012
    San Diego, CA
    I have no experience, but I think most of the "brand agnostic" claims are basically that you can mix'n'match Canon/Nikon/Pentax flash gear and still control the power level with the V6s. However, when it comes to mft, the story's a little different from what I can dig up.

From Cactus's FAQ on the V6s:

From a dpreview thread, BarnabyJones posted

Hope I'm wrong and someone else has first-hand information to the contrary.

Reading between the lines, it sounds like they're using the quench pin signal to control power output. The Canon/Nikon/Pentax hotshoe protocols are still backwards-compatible enough with film-era gear to use some analog signaling. The 4/3 hotshoe protocol, otoh, as I understand it is completely digital and does not use a quench pin, but rather digital signals on the pins, so it could be that remote power control with the V6 triggers is completely incompatible with 4/3 (m4/3) flash gear. But that's just a guess.

If all you want is remote power control, then maybe the YN-560iii and YN-560-TX or the Godox flashes & triggers will do what you need.

• Like Like x 2
  4. ilsiu

ilsiu Mu-43 Regular

Dec 4, 2012
    I have a pair of Cactus V6 triggers, an E-M5, and a Nikon SB800. With one V6 unit on the E-M5 in Tx mode, SB800 (set to TTL) on the other V6 in Rx mode, I've been able to successfully remotely fire the flash and also remotely adjust the flash power.

• Like Like x 1