C-AF - dumb question probably...

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Tapper, Mar 18, 2015.

1. Tapper

Tapper Mu-43 Regular

Mar 12, 2013
    ... but I've never used C-AF before. Tried it the other day and found that when I held the shutter button halfway my 12-40 f2.8 lens would "breathe," and rhythmically go back and forth.

Is that how it's supposed to be for C-AF?
  2. lightmonkey

lightmonkey Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 22, 2013
    Continuous focus means it'll constantly reacquire lock... this is for use e.g. when your subject is moving towards or away from the existing focal distance
  3. Tapper

Tapper Mu-43 Regular

Mar 12, 2013
    Thanks. So I guess my lens is behaving normally then. I'm a mainly S-AF shooter. :th_salute:
  4. jeffryscott

jeffryscott Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 2, 2010
    Sounds perfectly normal.
  5. Dave in Wales

Dave in Wales Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 5, 2011
    West Wales
  6. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    One of the benefits of having a hybrid PDAF/CDAF focusing system like on the EM1 is that the camera has more information to determine where focus should be. A pure CDAF only focusing system can only rely on the contrast of the pixels to determine that and may need to do the back and forth shuffle to determine. While I find that the EM5 has less of an issue with jogging in and out when focusing than other manufacturers CDAF only systems, it still has a higher probability of doing that than say an EM1.
  7. daanh

daanh Mu-43 Regular

Jul 25, 2010
    Hi, I have an OMD-EM5, and hope that someone here can explain how C-AF works on that camera. I want to shoot my sons soccer games. (Will) have the 12-40 and 40-150 PRO.

Some things I read:

You have to set vivid mode to ON.
    You have to shoot in low-sequential mode.
    The focussing box disappears after the first shot.

But I'm still a bit confused about this whole C-AF thing. If someone can explain it a bit for the EM-5, thanks very much!