Buying an E-PM1 tomorrow!

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by pake, Feb 28, 2012.

1. pake

pake Mu-43 All-Pro

Oct 14, 2010
    Finland
    Teemu
    So, there's a ridiculous one day offer in a Finnish camera store tomorrow - E-PM1 kit for 349€ (normal price here is ~450€). I'm definitely buying one (and I'll probably sell the kit lens for 100-150€). I guess that will keep me busy until I can get my hands on the E-M5 which I'm also buying... :rolleyes:

Could someone list the most important settings I should change immediately when I get the camera in my hands? :biggrin:

- Noise Reduction -> Auto
    - Noise Filter -> Low (or off?)
    - Keep Warm Color --> Off
    - Rec Button --> Manual Focus (or magnify?)
    - ???

FYI, I've been using E-PL1 for almost 2 years and I always shoot in RAW+JPG but I rarely use the OOC-JPGs. I don't use the Super Control Panel since I mainly use the menu to change ISO value and it's quicker without the SCP. But maybe I'll give it a new try with the E-PM1 since it has the control dial to make things easier/quicker...

And I guess I'll have to start browsing for a grip now. Damn, I'm excited... :2thumbs:

• Like Like x 1
  2. sokar

sokar Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 30, 2011
    I suggest reading WT21's review of this camera on this forum. The SCP is beneficial on this camera as there are not that many buttons for access. A great little camera in a small package.

• Like Like x 1
  3. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    Turn SCP on as it is off by default
    I found having the video record button to be magnify was very convenient

• Like Like x 1
  4. Aegon

Aegon Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 3, 2011
    Portland, OR
    I recommend setting the "Record" button as delete when reviewing pictures. The button is on a separate surface as the rest and won't get hit accidentally, and it comes in handy.

I also frequently link to this: Olympus PEN Mini / E-PM1 Review: Digital Photography Review