1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Buying a Lens...YOUR suggestions

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by AgentRaj, Feb 18, 2013.

1. AgentRaj

AgentRaj Mu-43 Rookie

Dec 18, 2012
    Vaughan, ON
    Hello all,

I'm fairly new to m43 buying an Olympus E-PL5 with 14-4mm kit lens (move up from P&S) around Xmas 2012. I'm asking a question that has been prob answered several times already but looking for answers based on my usage of the camera.

I'd like to buy a prime soon to practice with before a family trip/vacation in May to Vancouver.

The three lens I'm considering are:
    PanaLeica Summilux 25mm f/1.4
    Pana Lumix 20mm f/1.7
    Oly Zuiko 45mm F/1.8

I am/will be using it for:
    - my kids pics (indoor, outdoor, and sports)
    - family/vacation pics (indoor and outdoor)
    - property pics (for work...indoor and outdoor...I will buy a wide angle lens later)
    - Video (mostly self vids for bloG) <<< just added this option on Feb 21/13

I would greatly appreciate all your input/feedback in choosing ONE of the above lens based on my usage.

Thank you all m43 community...

I ahve been thinking a bit more about this and missed out one key usage that I intend to start soon....listed as the fourth option above under

2. peter124

peter124 Mu-43 Regular

I was in a similar situation last year, and bought an EPL2 with the kit lens, hoping to get some nice pictures on our trip to China. I also bought the 20/1.7 for night-time and indoor shots.

My first comment is that the kit lens is pretty good, at least from the perspective of someone coming from a point and shoot. Check my gallery for some samples, if you wish; most of those images are from the 14-42 kit lens.