1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Black & White London...

Discussion in 'Black and White' started by winnie123, Apr 17, 2012.

1. winnie123

winnie123 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 9, 2012
    London, U.K
    Marilyn
    I am still a relative newbie to :43: and had taken no pictures in Black & White so decided to visit Central London to photograph some of the famous landmarks.

See below - I would welcome any feedback - I have broad shoulders...lol

No processing as I have not got into that yet.

This is a view of the london skyline from the Embankment bridge...

skyline1.

The Gherkin...

Gherkin.

The Gherkin...up close...

gherkin_up_close.

A street performer on the South Bank of the Thames...

street_performer.

Tower Bridge with HMS Belfast in the foreground...

tower_bridge.

My personal observation is that maybe they are a little dark, but would welcome your thoughts :smile:

• Like Like x 3
  2. rparmar

rparmar Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 14, 2011
    Limerick, Ireland
    I think they're perfectly fine! Yes, the black seems to be blocking a bit, but with the restricted dynamic range maybe that was the least bad option.

So, next thing is for you to get into post-processing, since that can take the images to a different level. Are you shooting JPG with in-camera settings?

• Like Like x 1
  3. winnie123

winnie123 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 9, 2012
    London, U.K
    Marilyn
    Thanks...I did shoot them as jpg. I have avoided processing thus far as it seems as if there is such a lot to learn about the software so I thought I would concentrate on trying to take good shots.

Can you recommend processing software. I played with Photoshop on my photography course & it completely put me off as there was so much to it.

4. rparmar

rparmar Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 14, 2011
    Limerick, Ireland