Black and White in Digital

Discussion in 'Black and White' started by BBW, Jan 18, 2010.

1. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

Since I'm new to really truly using digital, besides with a point and shoot camera, I've been really interested to learn more about how digital works with black and white - and since Amin set up this nice forum which clearly hasn't been getting enough use, I thought I'd post a thread here in hopes of gleaning an education from some discussions.

I don't own Photoshop or anything else, really. Right now all I have is the iPhoto software on my MacBook Pro so I'm really a neophyte. I may well find it's "good enough" for me, but in the mean time I'd love to hear from you all who already use your cameras for black and white.

What do you do, is it always best to process it in your computer with software vs in camera?

What are the different softwares you use and why do you like one vs. another?

I just found this article which I'm sure will be helpful: http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/article_pages/intro-digital-black-and-white.html though I know nothing about Mr. Cooper.

Any and all pointers welcome on this trek into the new photography. :popcorm2:

• Like Like x 6
  2. Brian Mosley

Brian Mosley Administrator Emeritus Charter Member

Dec 15, 2009
    Hi BBW,

I use Lightzone for all of my B&W conversions... it has a very simple B&W tool, well worth a trial - and we've had a generous discount for Olympus Photo Safari Group members (which you can access here.) - note, let me know if you take the trial, and I'll try to get the discount renewed.

Lightzone is a wonderful post processing application, and excellent value for money.

Cheers

Brian

3. BBW

Many thanks Brian, I will look into it for sure. And I did notice that now lapsed discount but will let you know if I go for the trial. Any discounts are always greatly appreciated.:smile:

4. Streetshooter

Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus Subscribing Member Charter Member