1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Birds in Flight with EM-1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Lee O'D, Jan 12, 2014.

1. Lee O'D

Lee O'D Mu-43 Regular

Jul 27, 2013
    Hi, I know this has been discussed before, but is anyone having any real degree of success shooting birds in flight with the EM-1?
    I'd love to ditch my Canon gear one day as I have a EM-5 with 70-300 lens and love it. It's great for static subjects but I cant shoot birds in flight with it. If there was a way to get good BIF shots with the EM1 I'd buy one tomorrow. Any input greatly appreciated.

Lee.

2. humzai

humzai Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 17, 2012
    You can do birds in flight with em5 just use saf. The e-m1 is much better then the e-m5 and tracking works well for me but I have no experience with canon gear so I can't compare the two. Check the share birds thread. You can search for posts by my username and you'll see some bifs I've taken with the e-m1.

What canon gear do you use for birding?

• Like Like x 1
  3. JimUSNY

JimUSNY Mu-43 Regular

Nov 5, 2013
    Mid Hudson Valley NY
    Jim
    ]Well, the EM1 will be a lot better than the ME5 but still not very good, CAF unless you have absolutely no clutter in background is near impossible, and TR mode even worse.
    Also the 70-300 wouldnt be a great lens to use even with the E series, its just to slow. I am mainly using a 150MM and EC20 for 300MM F4, sometimes my 50-200 with EC14 for 283MM F5, The thing that saves me with the 150 is the focus limiter so no full searching at least.. my best luck is shooting S/AF MF and zeroing in in AF and using Manual focus to track the bird..