1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Best strap material for sweat

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by a_hit_of_meth, Sep 23, 2015.

1. a_hit_of_meth

a_hit_of_meth Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 7, 2012
    I'm just wondering if anyone can give me ideas for an outdoorsy type strap.

I've been hiking a lot lately to help rehabilitate my recovering peroneal tendonitis, which I'm really enjoying and plan to do more of and take my camera with me. I have two straps I've been using since 2011 when I bought my first m4/3 camera. One is a Gordy's leather hand strap and the other is a leather neck strap with really soft leather on one side and suede on the other, not suitable at all for a sweaty hiking trip around my shoulder.

I'm thinking a basic nylon strap would handle the sweat well and dry up easily but I'm also looking at this foam padded strap which I can use to wrap around the camera to put in a small bag to eliminate the use for a pouch and minimize the bulk. One other consideration are those stretchy type straps I've seen on some DSLR's but I'm not sure how they'll work on a smaller, lighter m4/3 body.

Another question, I've only ever had black or white m4/3 bodies so I've never had a problem matching my black leather straps to them. My new E-m10 is silver, not sure what the best color combination is especially with a nylon strap with several options like brown, olive even one denim finish that I sort of liked. Input on that would be nice too:)

2. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Lorenzo
    Peak design capture clip or B-Grip Evo?

3. gcogger

gcogger Mu-43 Veteran

May 25, 2010
    UK
    Graeme
    As an alternative option, are you using a backpack? OpTech do some small straps with quick release connectors that allow you to attach the camera to your shoulder straps. See here.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. a_hit_of_meth

Jan 7, 2012