1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Best partner for O. Zuiko 25mm 1.8 in a Olympus EM-10 II

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by joui, Aug 1, 2016.

1. joui

joui New to Mu-43

Jul 31, 2016
    Hello,

I recently acquired an Olympus EM-10 II with the 14-150mm kit lens. After a few weeks of testing I also bought an Olympus 25mm 1.8 lens to get pictures in low light and have a more portable kit.

At the moment I am very happy with the 2 lens and I'm thinking about buying a second lens to partner with 25mm. I am an amateur and my budget is low, so what would be the lens that you would buy to partner with Olympus 25mm?

I doubt between a Panasonic 14mm 2.5, Zuiko 45mm, Zuiko 60mm, Sigma 60mm... I know, focus completely different! I like portraits but I also like street photography.

Only a recommendation of a lens of great value that makes pair with 25mm to make different photos.

Thank you very much.

Joui

2. EarthQuake

EarthQuake Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 30, 2013
    I would go with the 45/1.8, I find that a very nice lens for portraits. The 60/2.8 lenses will also work for portraits but you need more working distance to use them, I find 45mm to be more of a general use focal length personally.

The 14/2.5 would be an okay lens for street photography, especially if you want your camera to be relatively inconspicuous. It won't be that much better than your 14-150mm lens at the 14mm end though. However, you can buy one for about $150 on eBay, so there isn't much harm in trying it out.

I find a 12/14mm, 25mm and 45mm make a really nice 3 prime kit.

Some other high value lenses to consider:
    • Samyang (aka Rokinon and other brands) 7.5mm 3.5 fisheye, not really a general purpose lens but for around $200 it's a bargain, manual focus though
    • Samyang 12/2 - if you want something a bit wider and faster than the 14/2.5, and can live with manual focus, at about $300 it is priced competitively vs the Olympus 12/2.