Best New Lens for E-PL1? (+ noob questions)

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Gusnyc, Mar 10, 2010.

1. Gusnyc

Gusnyc Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 9, 2010
    New York
    Hi Everybody!

I got my E-PL1 a couple of weeks ago. I really like it. I've been reading the posts about lenses and I got tempted to get the Panasonic 20mm/f.17.

I am totally new to this exchangeable lenses thing, so I would ask for some suggestions. I saw that some people love their 20mm Panny lens and some others enjoy the Oly 17mm.

My considerations are:

-I would like a small lens to make the E-PL1 small enough to take it with me everywhere.

- I love close ups/bokeh

- My next purchase will be the underwater case. I am a scuba diver and I will be going to the Great Barrier of Reef for 3 weeks in May. I will need a flexible lens to use underwater (in that regard, the wider angle of the 17mm seems better, right?) This will be my first experience shooting underwater.

- I would like a lens that will have good performance in low light.

- I am not sure what makes a lens more "flexible", faster speed or wider angle.

- I am afraid of a prime lens. Is that to restrictive (I know, I know, I am a totally newbie)

I can see that this will be an expensive 4/3 journey. The camera was a gift, but now I am thinking about the lens, the viewfinder (I got used to use the viewfinder with my previous Lumix FZ50) and the underwater case. Oh my!

Please, I would love to hear your suggestions.

Thanks!

Gus
    P.S. I pressed that damned "buy now" button in Amazon for the 20mm. But I can still cancel or change the order. I am trying to control my buyer's remorse.

I apologize if this post should go in another category. I wasn't sure because of the extra questions.

2. Amin Sabet

Amin Sabet Administrator

Apr 10, 2009
    Boston, MA (USA)