1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Best method to focus properly with GX1

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by rossi46, Aug 12, 2012.

1. rossi46

rossi46 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 1, 2012
    Hallo all,...

I have been using GX1 for nearly 5 months now.

I am having difficulty figuring out what is the best technique to use when focusing to capture moments (example babies, or casual dinner shots where the subjects do not wait or pose for you).

All the while I have been tapping on the LCD screen to focus and quickly press on my shutter, in order to be fast and not miss out any shots.
    I only recently found out that this method resulted in alot of mis-focused shots. (when with wide aperture, I have been using mainly the panny 20mm F1.7)
    I realised that once we tap on the screen to focus the point, we should press the shutter halfway for awhile to fully focus properly, then only fire the shutter gently....But it will be too slow and I could miss out some shots.

Second option, which is manual focusing, if I focus manually and subject stay there and I do not move,...then it works and I get sharp in focus shots.
    But as I am shooting moving subjects,...my way of capturing shots is occassionally changing my perspectives, getting lower ,...higher,...nearer...etc....
    So manual focusing is too slow for me...

Guys,...how do you all focus properly in such situations, when you have to be quick and your perspective from shots to shots keep on changing?

By the way another quick question, Panny 20mm F1.7 has only two modes of focusing? AFS and Manual only?

2. KVG

KVG Banned User

May 10, 2011
    yyc(Calgary, AB)
    Kelly Gibbons
    The 14 and 25 will focus way faster.

typed on my phone, sorry.

3. dbrantley13

dbrantley13 Mu-43 Regular

May 17, 2012