1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Best lens for point and shoot video...

Discussion in 'Filmmaking' started by DoofClenas, Feb 10, 2013.

1. DoofClenas

DoofClenas Who needs a Mirror!

Nov 9, 2012
    Traverse City, MI
    Clint
    So, I got the 20mm for it great size and sharpness for taking pictures, but the video performance, rather sucks, and that's being kind (focus hunts in and out). Now I'm no expert, and for the most part, my wife who uses the camera will be shooting videos (who is more of the point and shoot variety). How do the other pancake type lenses do with video (I'm referring to the 14mm and 17mm)? I'm wondering now, if I would I have been better off with the 25mm or the new 17mm.

2. juangrande

juangrande Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 2, 2012
    COLORADO
    I shot some video in low light/indoors w/ spotlights on the dancers. It was a belly dancing troop. Used a G3 and a 25mm 1.4 and shot wide open. It constantly focus hunted probably because of depth of focus and the changing contrast. It was that "breathing" kind of hunting, shallow quick focus movement. I was 20' away +/-. Anyway, next time in that situation, I'll probably turn off the autofocus or use a manual lens and just zone focus. I got a 28mm/f2 just to try. An amateur perspective....

I shot outdoors with a 45-175 some snow sledding and that worked well.

3. Steven

Steven Mu-43 All-Pro

May 25, 2012
    USA
    I don't know about Olympus but on Panasonic there is a Continuous auto focus option in the menu. If you turn it off it solves the hunting problem. If you have to refocus you just press and hold the shutter button.

4. Steven

Steven Mu-43 All-Pro

May 25, 2012
    USA
    Unfortunately you cannot use the Magnify function for video like you can for photos. :mad:

5. JoeV

JoeV Mu-43 Regular

Aug 22, 2012
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Joe Van Cleave