Best HDR settings for EM10 mark ii

Ankit Jain

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Feb 4, 2017
Messages
13
Real Name
Ankit Jain
Hi,

Can anyone share best HDR settings for olympus EM10 mark ii. I will be using Kit lens which is not very fast.

I have using google pixel app on my mobile phone & it gives very nice results. Is there a way to replicate such results using in camera settings?

I have found a video on youtube where user has shared some results of HDR grading. Is there in camera setting to do the same?

Thanks,
Ankit
 

doogie

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jun 9, 2016
Messages
141
Hi I have an EM10 Mk2 also, after playing around with a Google Pixel camera app on my phone (Gcam) I have been thinking the same thing.

Not had chance to test yet but the EM10 Mk2 has two built-in HDR modes, HDR1 and HDR2.

HDR1 is supposed to fairly subtle and HDR2 might be too processed. You can also bracket shots and use suitable software on a PC to create a HDR image from several RAW files.

In both cases it's advised to use a tripod. A Google Pixel or similar has a lot more processing power and can compensate for some movement, traditional cameras aren't at this level yet (imagine if they were!).
 

pdk42

One of the "Eh?" team
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
6,646
Location
Leamington Spa, UK
It's not necessary to use a tripod for the in-camera HDR modes. You'll get better results though by shooting a 3- or 5-stop exposure bracket in raw and then stacking in LR or whatever PP works for you.
 

tkbslc

Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
7,551
Location
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
There is not a way to get it in camera like phone cams can do. They just have so much more processing power (which is why they cost so much while having a tiny sensor and lens). You can shoot an exposure bracket with fast burst mode on for daylight shots handheld or use a tripod at night. Use Photoshop or similar to merge.
 

Mack

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
1,064
I've shot hand-held in HDR 1 with the E-Mi Mark II. I used it indoors as I thought I needed more dynamic range and it turned out it worked really well. The last of the three shots seemed like several seconds while standing there, but once done the body assembled them all (i.e. "Busy....") into one shot. Don't know if the 10 does it in body though and if it is restricted to their other bodies.

The HDR 1 photos are in this thread: Lens hood for museums.
 

exakta

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
596
I have the original E-M10 and usually prefer HDR2 over HDR1 (I often try both).

Even if you shoot RAW + JPEG, you only get one RAW file so if you want to do HDR in post rather than in the camera you need to use exposure bracketing.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2012
Messages
1,590
Location
SW England
Real Name
Rob
I have an E-M10ii. I always use 3 shot bracketing, usually +/- 1 stop unless it's really extreme.

But I didn't realise it even did in-camera HDR - I'll have to check that out. Maybe I should have had a look in the manual once or twice!
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom