1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Best free photo editing software?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by number17, Mar 11, 2011.

1. number17

number17 Mu-43 Regular

Jan 19, 2011
    I'm sorta new to photography and I just picked up an Oly E-PL1 over Christmas, but I'm having tons of fun with it.

I don't do a lot of photo editing, and I have strictly shot JPEG in general. Recently I started shooting JPEG+RAW as I find shooting RAW gives me a lot more options for post-processing. It does take a bit more time for the camera to write.

I've been using Olympus Master 2 thus far and it's ok. I find it somewhat limiting at times though, and it's not the easiest software to use neither (maybe because I'm a newbie)

Is there any other free or cheap photo editing software you guys would recommend? I don't do a lot of editing (yet) so I can't justify an expensive software at the moment ...

2. Hyubie

Hyubie Unique like everyone else

Oct 15, 2010
    Massachusetts
    Herbert
    Have you tried Olympus ib that comes with E-PL1? It's free (it comes with the camera), and is good enough to do basic raw processing, IMO.

3. icase81

icase81 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 22, 2011
    Philly, PA
    Windows or Mac? On Mac, Pixelmator is about 85% of Photoshop for $30. Theres also iPhoto, which is $20. Aperture is more in depth, but costs $60 I believe.

4. mauve

mauve Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 9, 2010
    Paris, France
    Digikam (click my sig) is a good editor with raw capabilities, running under Linux / windows / MacOS X, and a powerful software to file, tag, geotag, and otherwise do what you want with images.

It's aiming at being close in spirit with LightRoom. Easier than Photoshop (no Layers), but extremely good control of photographic parameters (uses 16 bits images, ICC, calibrated monitors etc.)

The B&W converter is very powerful, and I'm a bit partial to it because I rewrote the User Interface of that converter for the project... :wink: