1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

best choice for Canon FD adapter?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Mike_RB, Mar 17, 2011.

1. Mike_RB

Mike_RB New to Mu-43

Mar 17, 2011
    Hey Guys. I'm new to the micro four thirds world and have a bunch of old Canon lenses I inherited. Any ideas on which FD adapter is the 'best'? Is there a lot of difference between $30 and $100 adapters? And is there any that don't have the infinity focus issues?

Thanks a lot, hope to contribute more here as I get more into this.

Mike

2. OPSSam

OPSSam Mu-43 Regular

Dec 18, 2010
    NC
    I bought a Fotodiox FD adapter off Amazon for about $32 shipped. It works just fine, no more loose than my kit lens is on the camera. It focuses past infinity, which just means you can't whip the lens to infinity and shoot. But you can still get sharp focus if you are patient.

Here is an example of a shot I took using the adapter with an FD lens.

longrange_060.

And a 400m telephoto lens also adapted (kind of a bad lens).

longrange_077.

• Like Like x 1
  3. There seem to have been the occasional bad experience with various brands of adapters so I guess you should make sure there is some kind of return policy before buying, but you'd be pretty unlucky to have a major issue. Focusing beyond infinity is a common characteristic as most seem to be built slightly shorter than ideal to guarantee that infinity focus is achievable.

4. God at play

God at play  

Mar 22, 2011
    I've heard very good things about ciecio7's adapters, he runs out very quickly. Supposedly there are new batches that come in every few weeks, and the last batch showed up a couple weeks ago. Seems like there'll be a new batch pretty soon hopefully.

eBay My World - ciecio7

Some people also seem to like jinfinance adapters, but I've heard less praise overall so I don't know what that means, maybe I just haven't seen enough discussion about it.

5. agoglanian

agoglanian Mu-43 Regular