Best 4/3 general use lens?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by yamark, May 23, 2012.

1. yamark

yamark Mu-43 Regular

May 23, 2012
    Hey folks,
    new here and very excited to find this forum. I'm new to the micro 4/3 world.

After reviewing 1,000 websites for what camera would work for me best, I picked up an Olympus E-PM1. I like it quite a bit.

I'd like to get a nice lens ~$400.00. I can really only afford one lens so I'd consider it a general use lens. I'd like the possibilities of a large aperture.

Can you offer some advice?
  2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    The Lumix 20mm f/1.7 should fit under your budget, while a Leica 25mm f/1.4 Summilux would be slightly over. Maybe compromise and buy a used Summilux? :) If you want to also keep a really small package then get the Lumix 20mm, as it is a pancake lens and with the E-PM1 Mini will offer an extremely tiny system!
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Amin Sabet

Amin Sabet Administrator

Apr 10, 2009
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Hi and welcome! I agree with Ned :smile:.
  4. Redridge

Redridge Mu-43 Regular

Apr 17, 2012
    I have a 7-14mm, 12mm, 45mm, 20mm 14-42mm..... The 20mm 1.7 gets used the most. Why? It's pretty versatile IMHO... Plenty fast, iq is awesome and it's compact. You can focus as close to 6". So you can use your feet to zoom in and out.... But this is just me. My other lense gets used on special occasions, But the 20mm is a good all a rounder for daily driving.
    • Like Like x 2
  5. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010 first thought is the P20/1.7 since I assume the E-PM1 came with a kit lens. That said, I think the best general use lens is probably the P14-45.
  6. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    The 20mm has been a really useful lens, much more than I expected it to be. Alternately you may want to consider a telephoto. Depends on your style.
  7. suoersta

suoersta Mu-43 Rookie

May 23, 2012