Beginner question: Switching between 14mm and 14-42mm kit lens with GX1

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by craniac, Jun 9, 2014.

1. craniac

craniac Mu-43 Regular

Jul 26, 2013
    Orem, Utah.
    Mark Crane
    I am an amateur and a dabble, so I don't have much money invested in the hobby. I've got a GX1 and found a great deal on a 14mm Lumix lens (f/2.5). I just bought the standard kit lens (14-45mm f/3.5-5.6). [Whoops, it is actually a 14-42)

Both lenses have their strengths and limitations. I like having the ability to zoom with the kit lens, but while taking pictures of the stage for my son's graduation, my shots were a little underexposed and noisy--this is my fault.

I like the sharpness of the 14mm, and it is great at night, but everything in the distance, especially in very low light, looks pretty nasty when I crop.

So I'm going to Europe for the first time with my family in July, and I'm just looking for tips on which lens to shoot with in which situation. One reason I use a Panasonic GX1 is because it is smaller, and irritates my wife less than a full DSLR, but has better image quality and more control than my old S95 (loved that thing).

To begin to answer my own question, I need to get more practice with the camera and learn to shoot in manual. I welcome any other advice, even if is "You need a super fast lens that costs more than your first car" :)
  2. Steven

Steven Mu-43 All-Pro

May 25, 2012