Beginner Question - Limitations of Post Processing

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by deacon, Jul 8, 2015.

1. deacon

deacon Mu-43 Regular

Jul 7, 2015
    Deacon
    Hey everybody! I'm brand new to Photography - I just got a GM1 as my first camera that wasn't a p&s or couldn't make phone calls. It seems like the perfect entry point as well as the perfect future second camera...

As I get acquainted with it, it appears that the camera control options can be categorized as either: 1. exposure control (aperture, ss, iso) 2. auto focus control 3. image processing (color modes, filters, white balance) or 4. usability aids (drive mode, guide lines, level, etc.)

So if strictly considering camera controls ('artfulness' notwithstanding), would one theoretically only really need to be concerned with getting focus and exposure to their liking, with everything else adjustable in post-processing? Whether it's easier to do in camera or in external software is another question, but am correct in my assumption of what's adjustable after the image is collected?

Thanks in advance - This board seems much friendlier than some others i've found.

-deacon

2. tkbslc

tkbslc Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Especially if you shoot in RAW, yes.

3. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

With RAW, most of the in-camera processing settings are redundant and generally ignored by the offline converter. Some processing things, like dark frame subtraction, cannot be exactly replicated in post though. Also, if you do video, the processing settings matter, just like with in camera JPEGs.

4. budeny

budeny Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 4, 2014
    Boulder, CO
    "We will fix it in post" is wrong motto.
    If you shoot in raw format, then you can adjust a lot, but still - less adjustments will yield greater results.
    Focus, composition, horizon level - get them right to start with. Exposure can be adjusted in great margins, same as white balance. Noise is harder to beat, so chose ISO wisely.