Beginner photography book suggestion?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Frunch, Aug 31, 2011.

1. Frunch

Frunch Mu-43 Regular

Aug 5, 2011
    • Like Like x 1
  2. KVG

KVG Banned User

May 10, 2011
    yyc(Calgary, AB)
    Kelly Gibbons
    I'm a beginner too an many more experienced and pro photographers say you tube is the best place to learn from. I have no idea about book to read, sorry.

Sent from my iPhone using Mu-43 App

• Like Like x 1
  3. KVG

KVG Banned User

May 10, 2011
    yyc(Calgary, AB)
    Kelly Gibbons
    Oh and people on this forum are a wealth of knowledge.

Sent from my iPhone using Mu-43 App

• Like Like x 2
  4. Frunch

Frunch Mu-43 Regular

Aug 5, 2011
    Agreed! :biggrin:

5. RevBob

RevBob Super Moderator

Jun 4, 2011
    NorthWestern PA
    Bob
    Peterson is Great!

His books are interesting to read and full of very practical helps. I have four of his books - well worth the money. :2thumbs:

6. Grinch

Grinch Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 9, 2011
    Canada
    That's the book I started with, and was suggested by multiple forum members.
    I started a thread awhile back "Need some knowledge" will give a list of books that are suggested reading for the beginner. I'm still working my way through those, hope this helps.

• Like Like x 1
  7. scotth

scotth Mu-43 Regular

Feb 3, 2011
    Michigan
    I recommend Understanding Exposure as well, it is a very good book, especially for someone new to photography.

8. kundalini

kundalini Mu-43 Regular

Aug 20, 2011
  9. Djarum

Djarum Super Moderator

Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Jason
    I have both the photographers mind and the photographers eye by michael freeman. Both really good books dealing with light and composition.

10. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011
    SoCal