1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Beginner needs advice using/choosing lens on helicoper: Pan. 7-14mm, Pan.14-140,or Oly14-42 on Oly P

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Luv-UNC-gal, Dec 9, 2012.

1. Luv-UNC-gal

Luv-UNC-gal New to Mu-43

Dec 9, 2012
    Tar Heel Country
    Margaret
    I'm hoping to capture great pictures in a helicopter in Kauai. I'm a beginner. I may not be able to change lens in flight so I may have to pick one. I've heard about and seen online the purple spots when using the Pan. 7-14mm . Will this occur if using on the Pen E-PL2? The helicopter trip will be in the daytime and I may have direct sunlight. (Also, another question: Are filters not used on these wide angles? Also if using this carefully and not during windy times on beaches, am I safe just using the hood? )

I also have the Panasonic 14-140mm (but this baby is heavy) as well as the standard Olympus 14-42mm.

I'm learning to manual focus and enjoy doing that when there is ample time for me to play with it; but in the helicopter, I'm assuming auto focus.

Obviously you can tell by my questions, I'm pretty green here so any suggestions will be appreciated. Please note I may not understand advanced photography jargon, so if you could keep it real simple for me, that would be super. Thank you very much for any help!

2. elavon

elavon Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 1, 2012
    Tel Aviv Israel
    Ehud
    Helicopters are usually quit shaky therefor you need to use your lens in the fastest possible aperture and short focal length.
    This give you an option to use two lenses the P7-14 and the O14-42. I would start with the O14-42 since it is lighter and give some short telephoto.
    You need to set it in the lowest possible aperture in order to get shutter speed of 500 and above. This shutter speed will freeze any vibration.The best will be to work in S mode and set the camera to shutter speed of 500.