1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Beginner looking for helpful lens advice

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Tuglife, Jan 1, 2013.

1. Tuglife

Tuglife New to Mu-43

Dec 29, 2012
    Hello all. I'm new to this forum and to photography in general. I've had multiple point and shoots but decided to try and take it a little more serious. I recently purchased an E-p3 with the 14-42 kit lens and am just starting to get the hang of things. I'm looking for advice on what other lenses to buy. Like I said I'm a novice so the general must haves to cover normal scenarios are what I'd like. Price is certainly a factor so something cheaper or readily available used would be preferable. I'm a merchant mariner working aboard ocean-going tugboats with a lot of great photo opportunities I also travel quite a bit backpacker style so the basic amateur staples are what I'm looking for. Also if you could provide an explanation of what the lenses are best used for and maybe where to find them cheap i'd appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

2. ~tc~

~tc~ Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Oct 22, 2010
    Houston, TX
    Panasonic 20/1.7

3. elavon

elavon Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 1, 2012
    Tel Aviv Israel
    Ehud
    There are many cheap good primes and tele zoom.
    What type of photos do you take.
    If low light then the 20mm is great.
    For telephoto there are the P45-200 or the other 45-150 all are quit cheap.

If you want to get even cheaper and willing to manual focus there are many legacy primes.

The best place to look is in the buy & sell thread or Ebay.

But before we can give you advice you need to chose the type of photographie you want to shot.

4. Robstar1963

Robstar1963 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 10, 2011
    Isle of Wight England UK
    Robert (Rob)
    In your situation I would wholeheartedly recommend the Olympus 14 - 150mm 10 x super zoom