1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Basic questions about the FL-600R (for the OMD)

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by loko12345, Apr 22, 2013.

1. loko12345

loko12345 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 8, 2012
    Hi all,

I am considering purchasing a flash for my OMD EM5. I have little experience with external flashes (I basically have only used pop-up flashes in the past, with not so great results).

I have looked around for compatible flashes that appear to be somewhat easy to use with the OMD, and seems like the FL-600R stands out.

Would you recommend it? My main purpose would be to use it as a bounce flash to soften light and improve skin tones.

Would the FL-600R be difficult to operate for my intended bounce flash purpose given my lack of experience with flash photography? Or is it pretty straightforward?

Any examples of with/without bounce flash with OMD would be awesome.

Any input would be much appreciated. Thanks!

2. MrPhotoBob

MrPhotoBob Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 16, 2012
    I have three of the FL-600 flash and I use each of them for bounce as well as using them with the Gary Fong lightsphere collapsible with really nice results. I use the Mysets for my flash as well. One Myset is set up for outdoor fill flash and one is set up just for using flash indoors, it really works great. :2thumbs:

3. rklepper

rklepper Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 19, 2012
    Iowa, USA
    Robert
    It is pretty straigh forward. However, you still need to learn about flash to make your photos as good as possible with the flash. Makes little sense to get the flash and not learn how to properly use it. Of course I also think it makes little sense not to have a good flash.

4. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    strobist.com is a good site to learn about the possibilities with flash.