1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Basic question about M4/3 lens geometry

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by tanngrisnir3, Nov 12, 2011.

1. tanngrisnir3

tanngrisnir3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 18, 2011
    I'm still a little new to this, and I keep hearing differing statements from all over the place about M4/3 native lenses and their 35mm equivalents.

It's usually stated that in 35mm format terms, a M4/3 lens will be double the focal length, but I have questions about that.

A. Does that mean if I put on a GH2 a 50mm 1.8 Canon prime with an adapter that it will actually be a 100mm 1./8 in real terms?

B. Does this apply to native M4/3 lenses on M4/3 cameras? IOW, if I put 12mm 1.8 on a GH2, it's not going to actually render results that are 24mm, but actually be 12mm?

Sorry, new to this type of camera, and still feeling my way around.

• Like Like x 1
  2. ~tc~

~tc~ Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Oct 22, 2010
    Houston, TX
    First - focal length is focal length, regardless if you mount it on a compact, m43, APSC, full frame, or medium format, it's always a 12 mm lens.

When we say "equivalent" we are saying that the field of view is approximately the same. So that 12 mm lens on m43 will "see" the same width and height as a 24 mm lens mounted on a full frame /35 mm camera.

Now, since the sensor is smaller, and you're using a shorter lens for the same field of view, the depth of field is larger - more stuff is in focus front to back in the scene, by approximately the sensor crop factor. So, your 12/1.8 will present a scene like a 24/3.6 mounted on a full frame camera.

If you are not familiar with what the field of view for certain focal lengths look like in your mind, then none of this really matters. Just learn what a 12 mm lens field of view looks like on your camera,

• Like Like x 1
  3. shnitz

shnitz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Austin, TX