basic flash questions

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by huai, Sep 8, 2013.

1. huai

huai Mu-43 Regular

May 24, 2013
    I am a starting hobbyist photographer. I have never used ano external flash and have some questions about it.

I have read tutorials about flash positioning for portraits, food, etc. That part I understand (in theory at least). I want to know how oly flashes will work with my camera before I run out and spend a few hundred bucks.

I have an EM-5. Does it have built in wireless communication with external flashes? How do I pair them? Do i have to manually configure the exposure info into the flash or will the camera do that for me?

Do I need to have a flash mounted on the camera in order to be the "commander"? Or will the camera be able to sync all external flashes without a commander mounted? If I need a commander, can the little flash that came with the camera do the job?

I would appreciate it if someone would give me a basic tutorial for a very simple external shot setup (e.g. 1 portrait light off to the side, and a fill light on the opposite side that is not as bright). I would probably opt for fl-600r or fl-30r. What considerations besides price should I think about?

2. beanedsprout

beanedsprout Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 13, 2013
    north central Ohio