1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Back to photography after a 30 year vacation

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Obfuscation, Mar 7, 2013.

1. Obfuscation

Obfuscation New to Mu-43

Hi,

In a former life I was an avid photographer. I lived and breathed every little detail of the art and the hobby, from the right camera strap, to small handling techniques, to improvised support devices....you get the idea, I had fixer running in my veins (remember fixer?). Then married life put some pressure to turn this amazing hobby to helping out with the bills, and I made the fateful decision to start photographing weddings.....for money.

Well I was good at it, and I made some money, but somewhere along the way I lost the passion for taking photos.

Fast forward almost 30 years, long divorced, I've finally decided to find my photographic bliss. I've spent weeks deciding what kind of camera I would choose, and thanks to so many of the users on this site I now have an Olympus E-P3 with a 17mm f2.8 and a 14-42 II. I'm already plotting my next lens, and have spent many wonderful hours out shooting with my new toy.

For me, photography has always been about passion more so than technology (though I love the technology too), and the micro four thirds community in general and the E-P3 specifically just seem to embody passion. So now I join the rest of you, a new zealot out to proselytize the joy of photography unfettered by bulk and megapixels. Glad to be here.

Hal

• Like Like x 2
  2. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Keith
    Welcome to the club. It certainly sounds like you'll fit right in here with lots of hard won wisdom and experience to share.

I love your description of :43: as "photography unfettered by bulk and megapixels." Olympus and/or Panasonic should steal that.

3. Fmrvette

Fmrvette This Space For Rent

May 26, 2012
    Detroit, Michigan
    Jim