1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

AVCHD Archiving on a Mac - My method

Discussion in 'Video Post-Production' started by sprinke, Dec 12, 2011.

1. sprinke

sprinke Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 5, 2011
    Pasadena, CA
    Debi
    Hello folks,

I've been wrestling with a way to archive raw AVCHD footage from my GH2 onto my Mac (Snow Leopard). See, I'm kind of a backup nut. I like to make sure I have EVERYTHING just in case.

Yeah sure, you can just dig around in the file structure on your SD cards and pull the .MTS stream files off to watch your AVCHD clips or even import them into an editor (I use iMovie; I'm not a professional). But if you do that, you don't have all of the other goodness that's stored in that mysterious "PRIVATE" folder ... information about when the clip was shot, for example, that video editors can use.

So I've come up with a method I'm going to be using to create AVCHD archives that LOOK and ACT just like SD cards, and contain all of the information just as it exists on your real SD card. It works for me on Snow Leopard but it should be common to all the recent flavors of OS X.

1) Insert your SD card.

2) Select the PRIVATE folder and do a Get Info on it. Make a note of how large it is.

3) Open Disk Utility. This is under Applications / Utilities.

4) In Disk Utility, select New Image. Decide where you want to save it and what you want to call it. Keep it short and simple.

5) Select a Size that is slightly larger than the size of your PRIVATE folder.

6) Select Format: MS-DOS (FAT). Leave the other settings at the default.

7) Click Create. Your new disk image will be created and then mounted.

8) Copy the PRIVATE folder into the disk image.

That's all. You can eject the disk image and move it wherever you like, and delete the movies off of your SD card or re-format it. When I mount these images, iMovie acts as if I've attached a camera/camcorder and gives me the import window.