1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Auto Mamiya/Sekor es 55mm 1.4 lens

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by cbelter, Mar 20, 2015.

1. cbelter

cbelter Mu-43 Regular

Feb 26, 2015
    Hey everyone,

I picked up a mamiya/sekor auto xlt body with a Auto Mamiya/Sekor es 55mm 1.4 lens. I am wondering if there are any adaptors for this lens to go on a OM-D EM5 MK2? i think it would be a cool 110mm 1.4 lens on my m43.
    IMG_20150319_215716.

2. ManofKent

ManofKent Hopefully still learning

Dec 26, 2014
    Faversham, Kent, UK
    Richard
    I'm no Mamiya expert but I think early lenses were M42 screw (probably the easiest adapters to find) before they adopted the Z bayonet (adapters definitely available). They produced very decent optics so it's worth a few pounds to get an adapter. My guess is it will be rather soft wide open (older 1.4's typically are) but pretty good a stop or two down.

3. cbelter

cbelter Mu-43 Regular

Feb 26, 2015
    @ManofKent@ManofKent its not a screw on mount. typical slr style. there is a auto aperture plus a manual aperture ring that does not work.

4. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Keith
    I've never seen or heard of an adapter for these Mamiya ES lenses. Unfortunately it was a mount that was supported for only a couple of years and a handful of (maybe even just two?) bodies. As such, production of a commercial adapter is not likely to be commercially viable.

I imagine if you were really motivated, you could design and 3d-print something that would work, but I doubt that the results you would achieve with this lens would be worth the effort. Not that it's a bad lens, but there are lots of other reasonably priced, easily adaptable 50ish f/1.4 lenses available.

I think I'd either pop some film in that XLT and see if you like what you get there, or use it as a nice looking paperweight/bookend/decoration.

5. cbelter

cbelter Mu-43 Regular