Are watermarks pretentious?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Joltinjess, Sep 6, 2013.

1. Joltinjess

Joltinjess Mu-43 Regular

Jan 6, 2013
    Port Moody, BC
    Jesse
    I've noticed a lot of photos on here lately that have watermarks. For most of them, my first thought is that it really takes away from the photo. My second thought is that the photo isn't all that special in the first place. I'm a beginner myself and realize that my opinion, of someones photo quality, probably doesn't carry all that much weight.

If you have a watermark, Why? The internet is flooded with images, why would someone want to steal yours? Of course some people believe that their images are super special and valuable, but in most cases if you did a search you could find 1000 images just like it.

Just a minor venting session for me. Am I off base?

2. RoadTraveler

RoadTraveler Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 23, 2012
    I don't use a watermark on my images (possibly should) but sometimes do include a copyright notice when I share images. Not that I'm a top photographer, but I typically don't share my best work online, saving it for other forms of communication.

Even if a photo is not special, if one wants to exercise their copyright(s) in these times of flagrant disregard for such rights, it helps to assert them. Sometimes it's not clear now when an "average" image might be more valuable later, for a variety of reasons. [I'm not saying that I disagree, that some watermarked images do seem rather "average", but we are assigning our value to those images, the photographer may value them differently, and who am I to say what their copyright is worth.]