Aperture 4?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Kaze, Feb 4, 2012.

1. Kaze

Kaze Mu-43 Rookie

Sep 9, 2011
    My trial of Aperture 3 has just come to an end and I've decided to purchase it. However, having been caught out before with buying from Apple then hey presto the next week a newer version appears, I'm thinking of holding off for the next version.

Looking at the Aperture history version 2 was released in Feb '08, v3 in Feb '10 so I'm guessing v4 is imminent!?!

Have i got this right? Anyone got any insider info?

2. ripleys baby

ripleys baby Straw clutcher

Aug 10, 2011
    I've been using aperture 3 for 15 months and any upgrade the may come along would have to be something really special for me to want to change.
    In fact there is only one thing that could improve it for me, and that only a minor point .
    It deals with the raw files from my G3 almost perfectly, most of the time no editing has to be done. It's quick & I find simple to use (compared to LR)
    It's a lot of program for a little outlay.
    4 might be along shortly , and it might not.
    The question is, do you like Aperture 3
    What would you use while waiting for a possible 4 ?
    Just get it bought ! It's good enough :)

3. fredlong

fredlong Just this guy...

Apr 18, 2011
    Massachusetts USA
    Fred
    I've not heard any rumors of an imminent upgrade. Is it worth $79 now and at some unknown time in the future another $79 for v4? Compared to new and upgrade pricing of other products I think it's a good choice for Mac users planning on staying Mac users.

Fred

4. fin azvandi

fin azvandi Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 12, 2011
    South Bend, IN
    Lightroom is coming out with a new version soon and as you noticed it has been nearly 2 years since Aperture 3 was released, so my guess is a new version will be out sometime this year...but do you want to wait if it doesn't come out until the fall, say?

5. jeffek

jeffek New to Mu-43

Mar 12, 2011