Aperture 3 - how to use it, RAW, jpeg and more

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by BBW, Feb 21, 2010.

1. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus Charter Member

I'm completely new to Aperture, just bought Aperture 3 about a week ago and am slowly finding my way. Only other "post processing" I've done was of the most minimal sort via iPhoto. Background long ago - I was in color film, long, long ago. Very new to becoming interested in digital from a more serious point of view.

My main goal is to be able to use my camera, in my case an E-P2, as the best means to an end that I can..and not rely on post processing. However, since I'm not there yet...and I want to be realistic, I knew I'd want to use a software program that I'd feel most at home with - therefore Aperture, even currently without RAW for my particular camera.

I know that Kevin Paris at facefullofbees.com, and an active member here as well, :biggrin: has created a work around Apple Script for using RAW from the E-P1 and E-P2 and I'm probably going to buy his script from him here: http://facefullofbees.com/. I'll also put in a plug for him because he's got one for the GF1 RAW support, too.:thumbup:

Although I've gotten some very helpful feedback privately from another member who uses both Aperture and this Apple Script, I thought I'd start off this thread because I can't be the only person around who is interested. I know there are several others including Kevin and my member source who should be able to offer some helpful advice and lend a hand.

First, I'm going to ask about this RAW conversion Apple Script. Here's what I understand so far, at least what I think I understand: