Anyone use GIMP?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Djarum, Jan 29, 2010.

1. Djarum

Djarum Super Moderator Moderator Subscribing Member Charter Member

Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Jason
    Anyone use this for image manipulation? I've been using it for several years for small touch ups and what not. It doesn't have the pluggins that many of the other for pay products have, but it is free, and there are several tutorials out there and other pluggins available.

Dj

2. pxpaulx

pxpaulx Mu-43 All-Pro Charter Member

Jan 19, 2010
    Midwest
    Paul
    I tried the GIMP briefly on my dell mini9 netbook, but find Picasa more user friendly for basic editing (as well as quick upload to the net). I probably didn't give it much of a chance though! Does it work reasonably well as a full featured editor, or just some basic color and slider adjustments?

3. Djarum

Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Jason
    It has just about everything photoshop has except the plugins. It does layering, has noise reduction filters, blur effects, I could go on.

http://www.gimp.org/tutorials/

This link has been my gimp bible on doing some things:

http://www.gimpguru.org/Tutorials/

If you take a look at the B&W image I submitted in the challenges thread, I used GIMP to make it B&W and also add some grain to the picture.

Dj

• Like Like x 2
  4. sebastel

sebastel Mu-43 Regular Charter Member

Jan 18, 2010
    not your business
    i use it (GIMP) for everything except printing. no colour management makes acceptable results a lottery. ah, and a known but yet unfixed bug in exiv2 64bit linux keeps me from using ufraw. what a mess.

5. Djarum

Dec 15, 2009
    Huntsville, AL, USA
    Jason
    I've been having some trouble with gimp on my 64bit vista as well. Works great on 32bit.

6. hohoho

hohoho Mu-43 Regular Charter Member

Jan 24, 2010
    Tokyo
    I'm using it, but I'm still at the mostly-ignoramus level.