1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Anyone bought from eBay seller gpackard?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by the.growler, Apr 26, 2012.

1. the.growler

the.growler Mu-43 Regular

I've looked at a couple of lenses offered by eBay seller gpackard from time to time and always been put off his/her routine statement that the lenses have "dust/dirt/fungus" without further explanation and the lack of through-the-lens images. When I've contacted him/her to find out if the issue is dust or dirt (which I can deal with) versus fungus, I've received a brusque "I'm not an expert" - which I find strange coming from someone who specializes in camera sales. Does anyone here have any first-hand experience with this seller?

2. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Keith
    I've never dealt with this particular seller, but I would just walk away if that's the way they choose to describe their items. It seems they are obviously trying to set up a situation where you cannot argue that the lens was in worse condition than they claimed, no matter what condition it arrives to you in.

There are enough good quality lenses (and honest, trustworthy sellers) available on eBay (and elsewhere) that I would just ignore this one. If the lens they are offering (or the price) is really special, then I would take the time to read their feedback to see if other buyers have been satisfied.

You might want to look at the advice on buying used lenses that I've compiled here.

3. pxpaulx

pxpaulx Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 19, 2010
    Midwest
    Paul
    I looked them up. The listing the OP is referencing is 3 adaptall lenses with a starting bid of $8 plus $16 shipping. They have about 1500 feedback, 99.8% positive and sell all old photographic equipment. No reason to ignore the seller, or suggest it without finding out for yourself!