Anybody using the Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga line? (Not interested in Macs)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rgugler, Jul 25, 2016.

1. rgugler

rgugler Mu-43 Regular

Hey everybody,

I need to replace my computer sometime this year and originally had my heart set on the copper version of the HP Spectre X360, but it seems they have discontinued their 13-inch laptop. I came across reviews of the Lenovo Thinkpad Yoga line, and while it sacrifices a lot of the style, it has awesome specs. I was wondering if anybody had any experience using any of them for photo editing and some video editing? I am only an amateur photographer, but I am getting very serious about it and I am trying to up my photo game and work flow. (Some of the naturalist work I want to do in the winter requires a very high level of photography skill.) I like to travel, so that is why I am focusing on the smaller laptops. I also like the idea of being able to write on the screen. I had a convertible laptop when I was in college (it was massive and weighed over 5 pounds!) and being able to draw diagrams directly into my notes was super helpful. I'm currently looking into grad schools for GIS, remote sensing, and mapping, so this would be the laptop I had for that as well.

I am currently using a 13 inch Toshiba Portege I bought in 2011, so I can't imagine being too terribly disappointed because anything would be an upgrade, but I don't like changing computers (obviously!) so I want one that will last. My current laptop has an intel Core i5 and I have upgraded the RAM to 8gb and hard drive to an HHD 1tb drive. It is working better than it was before the upgrades, but it has some serious heat management issues and sounds like it might explode sometimes, so definitely can't just upgrade some harware this time.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

2. tkbslc

tkbslc Mu-43 Hall of Famer

3. rgugler

rgugler Mu-43 Regular