1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Any suggestions? Affordable equipment for Olympus PEN E-PL2 for Macro Photography. :)

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by xhatox, Jul 29, 2014.

1. xhatox

xhatox Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 29, 2014
    Hi everyone!

I am new to photography, and have spent the past couple of weeks searching for answers to some questions, but have been unable to answer them myself. Could you help? :) I would like to take macro photos of items the size of small pieces of chocolate, AAA batteries, buttons etc, but lenses seem so expensive.
    Right now I have two lenses: the kit lens which is a 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 II, 0.25m/0.82 ft Olympus lens and a 40-150mm 1:4-5.6, 0.90m/2.96 ft Olympus lens.

I have been looking at density filters, but a lot of the filters that are listed as fitting the E-PL2 state "37mm"/the 14-42mm lens. (Why 37?) as well as more affordable macro lenses (Holga and Vivitar for example).
    The MCON-P01 and MCON-P02 lens converters seem rather affordable, but some reviews say that it doesn't change much for the kit lens. Is this true? Which is the best of the three: Cheap macro lens, density filter, or macro converter?
    How do you know which filter, converter, or lenses fits each camera?

I am looking for something affordable (under $100) for take still photos of objects the size of a piece of chocolate or AAA battery. I will not be printing the photos.
    If you wanted to take macro photos with an Olympus PEN E-PL2 with only around $100, what would you buy?

Thank you! :)

2. phigmov

phigmov Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 4, 2010
    There are good choices between $100-200 - almost any adapted macro (55mm Nikon Micro-Nikkor or 50mm Olympus Om mount Zuiko etc) will do the job if you've got a tripod or steady hand. Plus $20-30 for an adaptor.