1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

any professions shoot full time m43?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Linh, Jun 14, 2011.

1. Linh

Linh Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 14, 2009
    Maryland, US
    Curious if anyone has made that shift, and if they care to share their story, the good, the bad, and anything inbetween.

I know Gordon (Flash) has mentioned he dumped his Canon gear in favor of a Leica/m43 combo. Any more of you out there?

Yes, I'm considering it w/ the G3 (assuming this new sensor pans out). I'm by no means a Pro, but shoot events (weddings mostly) on the side sometimes w/ my canon kit. Aside from low light performance, lens selection is my other concern. If the oly 12/2 is good, I'm only short a ~40/1.8 (the 45/2.8 would have to do for now) and a "35-100/2.8".

Why not just keep what I have? Well, I've been considering dropping my 5D to a 7D anyway, but mostly to simplify. I'm not set on it yet, but strongly considering it. I will have to obviously give it a run through to see if it will really work for me, but thought I'd inquire for curiosity sake =)

2. Saelee

Saelee Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2011
    The m43 is a fairly "new" system I doubt many pros are using it as there full time. I am not saying that the m43 is not capable of creating high quality work or anything. Just many pros have thousands of $$$ invested in there current system.

I think Gordon is the first pro m43 user. Maybe Panasonic/Olympus should sponsor him.
    :2thumbs:

• Like Like x 1
  3. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    A 35-100mm f/2.0 is what we have for the Four-Thirds system. A stop faster than what you're looking for. ;)

Trust me, lens selection is not a concern. Between Four-Thirds, Micro Four-Thirds lenses with full autofocus, and adapted lenses without, we have the greatest lens selection in the world from any system I've ever seen.