Any Hackintosh Users?

Wasabi Bob

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
1,097
Location
New Jersey - United States
I just built my 1st Hackintosh system based on the I7-950 processor. Essentially it's a Mac but having the ability to dual boot with Win-7 (x64) makes it a very flexible machine. Just curious if there are any others here who have taken this route?

For anyone thinking of doing this I can tell you it was easier than I thought. The most difficult part of the project was "learning" the Mac OS whhic is less technical. It was a humbling experience, having to seek out answers for simple tasks that I do everyday in the Windows world.
 

qball

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jun 19, 2010
Messages
170
Built a couple. Always went back to Windows. Had a 24" iMac. Sold it. Don't get the hype. For work and every day business type tasks, it was too slow. I don't have the stability, vulnerability and functionality issues with any of my Windows machines that everyone always criticizes PCs for. Macs are just expensive slower machines.

If you wanna experience OsX... Hackintoshes are the way to go!
 

sblehm

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
37
I tried it once on a Dell mini 9. I was very unimpressed.
I would like to know if the app store works on a hackintosh. I recently bought Aperture at the new $80 price through the app store and would think about building a desktop hackintosh if I knew for sure it would work.
 

wyip

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
77
Location
San Francisco, CA
I've built a few. It really has gotten much easier, and now that you can do installs straight from the retail OS X DVD it is actually quite stable. I have a Core 2 Duo (Conroe) hackintosh that I still use. I reinstalled Windows 7 on my i7 desktop, though. I'm not a fan of dual boot setups so I have separate PCs for OS X and Win7.

VasManI - How well does it run in VirtualBox? For some reason I didn't think it would work that well in a virtual environment, so I'll have to give that a try this weekend.
 

lenshoarder

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Nov 7, 2010
Messages
1,324
VasManI - How well does it run in VirtualBox? For some reason I didn't think it would work that well in a virtual environment, so I'll have to give that a try this weekend.
I don't know about virtualbox, but I run it under vmware. It runs so well on my Sony Z that I got rid of my Macbook Pro.
 

Wasabi Bob

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
1,097
Location
New Jersey - United States
In 10.6.6

I tried it once on a Dell mini 9. I was very unimpressed.
I would like to know if the app store works on a hackintosh. I recently bought Aperture at the new $80 price through the app store and would think about building a desktop hackintosh if I knew for sure it would work.
Yup, just did the 10.6.6 update and the Ap store seems to work fine.
 

oldskoolboarder

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 20, 2010
Messages
48
Dell Mini 9 dual boot w/ Win 7. I still use mine when we go on vacation so I don't have to worry about losing it or having it stolen. Not the fastest but works fine for email and surfing.
 

Kalieaire

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Feb 6, 2011
Messages
18
I love my hackintoshes. Even though sometimes I'm missing out on compatibility on certain equipment like graphics cards, nics, or sound, I'm happy that I'm saving 800 bucks on each machine.

I have two right now:

Q6600 on Intel D975xbx2 BADAXE2 - 8gb ram
i7 930 on Asus Rampage GENE 2 - 24gb ram
 

mauve

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
1,445
Location
Paris, France
Don't know if that counts in this thread, but I used to run Mac OS 7.5.3 on the Basillisk II 68K emulator under Linux :biggrin:

I also have NeXTStep 3.3 (grandfather of OS X) running native on a SparcStation 20 - 712 / 512 MB [really hardcore stuff this one].

Cheers,
 

Kalieaire

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Feb 6, 2011
Messages
18
Well it counts as an old school hackintosh, circa when i was in high school.
 

aw614

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Mar 19, 2011
Messages
122
I have leopard working on my Dell D600, there are some minor issues such as booting from battery, but for the most part it works alright. Performance wise, it felt similar to .running ubuntu on my dell. But just went back to windows xp on it for the time being
 

SRHEdD

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Feb 24, 2011
Messages
979
Location
Viera, Florida USA
Real Name
Steve
...and I run Windows7 on my Mac through VMWare Fusion. Too easy and works great. Best of both worlds on my preference of hardware.
 

MacBook

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jul 24, 2010
Messages
237
Location
South Carolina
I have run Mac OS since about 1995, but would really rather have more choice of machines if there really is a simple way of using a hackintosh for a new PC. Actually, it would probably get me to use Windows 7 more and make the transition easier. I have always missed the equipment choices and wider array of programs, but have been spoiled by what used to be superior graphics and the absence of malware.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom