Another "which camera" thread! Upgrade for my EPL5.

finja

Mu-43 Rookie
I am a casual photographer mostly interested in capturing memories of family events, milestones and vacations. For the most part I have been happy with my EPL5. I have invested quite a bit in the system (plenty of non-Pro lenses - both primes and zooms) since purchasing my first m43 camera, the trusty EPL1. I do very little video work but do capture clips of family events occasionally. I expect I'll do some more of that in the future but stills remain 95% of what I will be capturing.

I've done plenty of reading about the current Olympus offerings recently since I'm now looking to upgrade my EPL5. I haven't really considered a Panasonic body although I do have a few of their lenses. I've read about all the pros and cons for each Olympus model and I'm still not convinced what to buy next (looking at the EM5 mark ii and the EM10 mark ii or mark iii I'm not sure they will really be an upgrade to my EPL5 for my uses). Of course, the EM5 Mark iii looks nice but its a bit above my price range. I'm also not sure I'm ready to step up to the EM1 Mark II (even used the EM1 is at the upper limit of what I'd like to spend as a casual photographer and I'm not sure I really need a pro camera).

If I can be specific about what is most important to me in an upgrade it is autofocus speed and accuracy - since I did find a few OOF shots during my recent vacation - and high ISO performance (took lots of photos in the evening with fast primes but would love a little better output). I should specify that I rely entirely on the SOOC JPEGs. I am interested in learning post processing in the future but not something I'll be doing anytime soon. Weather sealing is nice but I've never found I needed it and ergonomics, while interesting, have never been a problem for me (I can adapt to whatever camera I have in my hand).