Another hello from Spain

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by angloasturian, Apr 3, 2010.

1. angloasturian

angloasturian Mu-43 Veteran

My name is Colin and I have been living in this paradise on the north coast of Spain called Asturias for the last 41 years (hence my signature). I came as a teacher, fell in love immediately and will not leave until, as I tell my friends, I go ‘feet first’.
    Let me just say that I’m not a M43 user yet. I’ve just bought an E-PL1 and have received an e-mail to tell me it’s on its way. I’m really excited at the prospect because I have a lot of legacy lenses I want to try on it (see below).
    A ‘brief’ biography (please skip it if you wish). I have been an amateur photographer since I was a teenager, starting with my Dad’s Iloca, then a Zenith and finally a second-hand OM 1 I bought with some money my Gran left me.
    Once in Spain I started to develop and print my own B/W, but mainly used slides for holiday trips (Austria, Hungary, Egypt, Thailand). I still have all the equipment but the appearance of digital cameras has made me very lazy – so now if I shoot film I just develop it and scan it into my PC.
    I still have an OM1, OM10 and OM4.
    I also have a Voigtlander Bessa R, Bessa L and Bessa T (the 101 anniversary edition with the famous 50mm f3.5 Heliar). Also a Contax T2.
    To start in digital I bought a Nikon Coolpix 2000, then a second-hand Olympus E-300 with the 14-45 kit lens and later acquired the 40-150. This was about 2 years ago. Since then I’ve gone mad and bought all sorts of weird stuff – and forums (fora?) like yours are to blame!
    How about this: Sigma 600mm catadioptric (1200 on my E-300)
    Makinon 300mm catadioptric
    Konica AR 40mm/1.8 (which I adapted to 4/3)
    Vivitar 19mm (Nikon mount with 4/3 adaptor)
    Vivitar 24mm (ditto).Both cost me 40€!