1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Another hello from Spain

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by angloasturian, Apr 3, 2010.

1. angloasturian

angloasturian Mu-43 Veteran

My name is Colin and I have been living in this paradise on the north coast of Spain called Asturias for the last 41 years (hence my signature). I came as a teacher, fell in love immediately and will not leave until, as I tell my friends, I go ‘feet first’.
    Let me just say that I’m not a M43 user yet. I’ve just bought an E-PL1 and have received an e-mail to tell me it’s on its way. I’m really excited at the prospect because I have a lot of legacy lenses I want to try on it (see below).
    A ‘brief’ biography (please skip it if you wish). I have been an amateur photographer since I was a teenager, starting with my Dad’s Iloca, then a Zenith and finally a second-hand OM 1 I bought with some money my Gran left me.
    Once in Spain I started to develop and print my own B/W, but mainly used slides for holiday trips (Austria, Hungary, Egypt, Thailand). I still have all the equipment but the appearance of digital cameras has made me very lazy – so now if I shoot film I just develop it and scan it into my PC.
    I still have an OM1, OM10 and OM4.
    I also have a Voigtlander Bessa R, Bessa L and Bessa T (the 101 anniversary edition with the famous 50mm f3.5 Heliar). Also a Contax T2.
    To start in digital I bought a Nikon Coolpix 2000, then a second-hand Olympus E-300 with the 14-45 kit lens and later acquired the 40-150. This was about 2 years ago. Since then I’ve gone mad and bought all sorts of weird stuff – and forums (fora?) like yours are to blame!
    How about this: Sigma 600mm catadioptric (1200 on my E-300)
    Makinon 300mm catadioptric
    Konica AR 40mm/1.8 (which I adapted to 4/3)
    Vivitar 19mm (Nikon mount with 4/3 adaptor)
    Vivitar 24mm (ditto).Both cost me 40€!