An introduction - My way towards micro 4/3

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Ramirez, Dec 31, 2011.

1. Ramirez

Ramirez Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 26, 2011
    Hello all!

I just found this forum, it seems like a nice place with a lot of nice people so I decided to join.

I want to share my story about my way towards the micro 4/3 system.

Around 2006/2007 I started out with digital photography (with a simple 4 megapixel Nikon Coolpix P&S). Before that I used film P&S cameras (I remember that I had an Olympus Trip Junior).

A few years went by and I wanted to learn more about photography. I decided that I wanted a DSLR. I studied a little bit about different brands and their DSLR:s and decided to go for the 4/3 system and the Olympus E-510.
    The SSWD dust cleaning system and the IBIS on the E-510 won me over, no hassle with sensor cleaning or shaky pictures!

I used the E-510 as my photography tool until about now. I noticed that my E-510 more often stayed home and that the pics I took more often came from my iPhone 4. I longed for real photography again and not those snapshots from the iPhone 4.

My decision was made and I bought an E-P2. The reasons why I picked the E-P2 had to do with the retro style (metal body feel etc) and that I bought it quite cheap. Of course the E-P3 would be better but it is more expensive too.
    Regarding the AF speed; E-P2 AF speed is ok for the most part for me, if I need faster AF speed I'll use the E-510 (for sport photography etc).

Now I have a better camera (E-P2) than the iPhone 4 camera clutched to my body either in a pocket (my big jacket pocket) or in a small bag!
    I believe that the best camera is the one you have with you! The opportunities to great photos comes randomly and now I am more prepared for them.
    Photography is fun again!

I enjoy many different areas of the art of photography. Right now I am into street photography with my E-P2 (much easier than the E-510 that people notice more!).