An example of mirrorless losing to DSLRs

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by pdk42, Feb 28, 2014.

1. pdk42

pdk42 One of the "Eh?" team

Jan 11, 2013
    Leamington Spa, UK
    A good friend of mind decided recently to get himself a "proper camera". He tapped my brains for what to buy and of course I plugged mirrorless and u43 in particular (by way of context, I've been a keen amateur since my teens back in the 70s and have been through many systems, including about 6 years with Canon DSLRs). What did he buy? - a Nikon D3100.

Why didn't he buy mirrorless? - two reasons:

- Price. Nikon was £300 with kit lens. Nearest Oly is the OM10 at twice that price.
    - Image. The Nikon looks more like what he thinks a serious camera should be.

I think this sums up the real impediments to greater u43 penetration, at least in the UK (and I think the US too). Both need addressing.
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    well he is buying a model that has been superceded twice, and is 3-4 years old - it is obviously priced to clear old stock - so comparison with OM10 is a little unfair.

• Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. mattia

mattia Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 3, 2012
    The Netherlands
    I think the reasons are, in positions 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, price. And then everything else for most people. And to be honest, for quite a few incidental shooters, a DSLR is probably the better option. Backpackers and other (ultralight) travellers who want optimal flexibility, on the other hand, are almost all better served by a mirrorless system. Unless they have a sherpa to carry around the heavy, high-quality glass. I suspect my full Africa travel setup will only be 4-5 lbs heavier than just my camera gear was for South Africa. And the focal range coverage will be greater, with faster aperture glass.
  4. Luckypenguin

Luckypenguin .

Oct 9, 2010
    Brisbane, Australia