Amateur looking for best "next thing"

Hi all,

I've been shooting for a few years trying to learn photography a little better. I'm currently deployed, so thought I'd pick up a micro-four thirds after having a Canon 70D for a few years.

My current equipment:

Olympus OM-D E-M1 (original - not Mark II) -- I got it used.
14-42 kit lens
45mm f1.8 (my favorite)
40-150mm zoom

Mostly I enjoy doing landscapes, and closeups, like flowers and stuff. I tend to take a lot of food shots too :) I'd like to do night photography, maybe more with people in the future.

I found out recently that I have a military entitlement I wasn't expecting, and I can budget about $1500-$3000 for an upgrade. That's where my question is.

I know with the lenses that I have that I'm hitting some technical limits. I don't really have a macro lens, and none of my lenses are "pro" models. I'm aware with the E-M1 Mark II that there's a high resolution mode with multiple captures for something like 50-megapixel which sounds amazing. Even just the stock 20-megapixel verses 16 seems like 25% more detail with the same lenses I already own.

For learning, and what I use the camera for, would it be better to get a used Mk II body, or get another lens? If a lens, any recommendations? I know the E-M1X was just announced - do you think that will delay an E-M1 Mk III (and hence a price reduction on the Mk IIs?)

Thanks,

Dion

christofp

Mu-43 Veteran
I think the 45/1.8 and 40-150/5.6 are really good enough and a bargain.

Weakest point is the standard kit zoom

You could enhance your current setup like this:

• replace the 14-42 with a 12-40/2.8 PRO lens.
    Much better fit to your EM1, 12mm is significantly wider, much sharper and some nice close-up capability. Around 500$.

• For even better close up, buy a +3 diopter close up lens for your 40-150.
    Either the +3 diopter Marumi screw in or the Raynox +4.8 dioter snap on. 50$.